2 Peter 3:9 -The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.

How amazing that unlike us humans, God is willing to forgive again and again, he doesn’t count past sins against us and when we ask for forgiveness he gives it instantaneously.  It heartens me massively to know this.  As someone brought up going to church I aways had an understanding of “sin” and I knew in my heart that my sexual identity and choices were sinful.  I lived over 30 years defying God, continuing to sin over and over and whilst I suppose a small part of me cared, the truth is I blanked it out as sin because I believed I didn’t have a choice.  What I mean by not having a choice is that I didn’t realise as a lesbian I could build a relationship with God.  I thought I was condemned because of that choice and as such didn’t talk to God about it.

When God called me back to him and I reluctantly went to a local church I started to get the feeling that he did love me and that love was unconditional.  I continued in my lifestyle and as I grew closer to God it was then that he had the conversation with me about my sexual sin.  He didn’t ram it down my throat the minute I tried to get close or use it as a barrier to my getting close, he patiently and lovingly drew me closer to him, developed a relationship and then lovingly and gently told me what he expected of me, obedience to his word.

We are called to model our Father’s behaviour, being transformed into his likeness and we can learn a lot from how he works.  When someone from the LGBT community comes to our churches we too need to show them love, grow close to them in fellowship and only then in a loving and gentle way talk about their choices and the Bible’s teaching on sexual sin. To be honest I genuinely believe that if we welcome people in love and support them God himself will pave the way for that conversation if required but if we put up barriers or act too quickly we may cause that person to leave and that is the last thing we want to be doing.

