I was having a chat with some fellow Christians last night and I was telling them about a conversation I had recently with a Christian who was gay and she believed God had told her to fully embrace who she was and not be apologetic.  This person had then gone on to say that she was clear where she stood on the issue of homosexuality not being sinful or wrong.

Knowing my stance was the complete opposite, my friend then asked the question, do you think God tells homosexual Christians different things?

So the question was well meaning, almost like do you think God tells it differently to different people but I was adamant in my response that “No” I don’t think God sees it differently for different people. I believe that he sees homosexual behaviour as sinful no matter what.  I suppose in a similar vein you could ask does God tell some people it’s OK to murder but tell others it’s not, or it’s OK for you to steal but it’s not OK for you.

Sin is sin, don’t let anyone tell you differently.  We are urged in the Bible to meditate on the word day and night (Joshua 1:8) and to store up God’s word in our hearts so that we may not sin against God (Psalm 119:10-11).  By really knowing God’s word and immersing ourselves in it we come to see what is sinful and what goes against God’s teaching and only then can we become obedient to God in all our ways, through acknowledging his teaching and being obedient to his calling on our lives.

 

