Proverbs 7:1-3 My son, keep my words and store up my commands within you.  Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye. Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart.

I’ve just started reading “Girls with Swords” by Lisa Bevere.  Now in this book she talks about the word of God being our sword, but how she has a vision of many of us using broken or incomplete swords, unable to fight effectively against the enemy because we do not have full, working swords.

This got me to thinking about the Word and how we have to use it in context and explore the whole of God’s word, not just pick out bits to suit.  We wouldn’t read any other book and just pick up the odd sentence here or there, we would read from start to finish to get the whole story.  Likewise if we wanted to evaluate and understand the content of a book we wouldn’t rely on listening to other people’s summaries, we would want to read it ourselves.

My message here is “be in control”, read the Bible in context, read more than just the popular passages of scripture to start to formulate a full understanding of it’s meaning for your life.

When I was first battling with faith and my same sex attraction, trying to justify it as acceptable to God, I saw how easy it was to skim the important messages, miss out the bits that made me go “ouch” or challenged my obedience to God.  Not a good idea!  It was once I gained a better understanding of God’s word and sought his counsel that I understood his calling on my life and as I immerse myself in his word I continue to feel the benefit of having a growing understanding of God’s plans as I live my life for him.

 

