Reading what Bible scholars say is really insightful but also it often opens up the text in new or different ways, their interpretation perhaps challenging conventional thinking or leading people to see some biblical teaching as irrelevant today.  So here’s the thing.  I am not a Bible scholar and I believe that God intended me to be able to pick up the Bible and understand exactly what he is saying.  Some may think me naïve but I genuinely believe that God spoke through all those who physically wrote the Bible, he fed their words and it is all “God-breathed”.  These were ordinary (but highly blessed!) people writing God’s words for other ordinary people to read and understand.

So where am I going with this? I suppose what I am saying is that for me I make my decisions based on how I interpret the Bible and not what others tell me.  Whilst I may read commentaries my decisions are made through a combination of what I read and how I interpret it and the guidance of the Holy Spirit when I pray over the Word.  It is so important to me that I don’t get caught up in the teaching of so called “experts” in any field but allow God to speak to my heart.

I’m also saying that for me the Bible is the truth and I believe all that it says.  I believe we have to be careful about unbelief, indeed Hebrews 3 holds a warning against unbelief:

So, as the Holy Spirit says: ‘Today, if you hear his voice do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion, during the time of testing in the wilderness, where your ancestors tested and tried me, though for forty years they saw what I did. That is why I was angry with that generation; I said, “Their hearts are always going astray and they have not known my ways.” So I declared on oath in my anger, “They shall never enter my rest.” See to it, brothers and sisters, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God

Do you believe God’s word? Is your interpretation of God’s word based on your own understanding or what others have told you?  Have you turned from any aspect of his word in disbelief, have you hardened your heart to his voice?  Are you living out your Christian life in full obedience or are there areas in which you are harbouring disobedience?

All this can be used in the context of any sinful behaviour but for those of us with same sex attraction I believe that examining this passage in Hebrews is important in the light of the number of references to homosexuality being a sin.  Have we hardened our hearts, have we really listened to God, have we gone astray from God’s perfect plan for our lives, have we been deceived?

The next verse says: But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called ‘Today’, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness”

That is exactly what I desire to do as part of my Blog.  Let’s encourage each other to become tuned in to God’s voice and his desires for our lives, let’s encourage one another to think about the deceit and lies that Satan will use to separate us from God’s love and let’s work to support and encourage each other as we continue to explore our faith and obedience to God and what that really means for our walk with Jesus.

