Letter to the Church in England

Lately I have been reading many of the letters to the emerging church in the New Testament and it struck me what would a letter to the “English Church” look like today?  Regardless of denominational differences I believe the letter would be pertinent to us all, we have strayed a long way from our Christian roots in this country and I think it fair to say a degree of secularism has crept into the life of the church.

And yes this is a blog about homosexuality and Christianity so it would be right to assume that I personally feel this would be covered in the letter as it was directly in Romans, 1 Timothy and 1 Corinthians as well as indirectly through the addressing of immoral practices in a number of other letters. I believe we would be called to obedience and repentance.

But my focus here is more on some other points made in these letters, points which I feel are important to bear in mind when hearing the liberal view on homosexuality and Christianity that is around in many churches, points that will remind us to be guarded and wary of false teaching in the last days.

I have noticed that many advocates for “homosexuality not being a sin” give eloquent explanations of the Bible and what it says about same sex attraction, there are those who argue persuasively that their view is correct and Bible scholars who put a very believable spin on God’s word one way or another.  Let’s face it we have all read many, many, different interpretations of the same verse by different scholars, preachers, lay preachers and even bloggers because as humans we all tend to interpret things to suit our own arguments and we can be very good at spinning a tale.

So what am I saying here?  I’m saying we all need to be guarded when reading different interpretations and seek wisdom and discernment.  As the Bible says in 2 Peter 2, in the last days we are to beware of false teachers, we know that there will be stumbling blocks, can we be sure that what we are reading doesn’t fall into that category?

So back to the letter, I picked out just 4 verses from many that I would like to see in this letter which all kind of say to me, open your minds, open your hearts, do not be deceived, set your mind on things above, on things that are holy, pure and right.

  • Colossians 2:4 – I say this, no one will delude you with persuasive arguments
  • Ephesians 4: 17-18 – So this I say and affirm together with the Lord that you walk no longer just as the Gentiles also walk in the futility of their mind, being darkened in their understanding, excluded from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, because of the hardness of their heart
  • Romans 16:18 – For such men are slaves not of our Lord Jesus Christ but of their own appetites and by their smooth and flattering speech they deceive the hearts of the unsuspecting
  • Philippians 3:19 – Whose God is destruction, whose God is their appetite and whose glory is their shame, who set their minds on earthly things

When praying over this post God put one more scripture in front of me Matthew 7:21 which I feel compelled to share:

Not everyone who says to me Lord, Lord will enter the Kingdom of Heaven, but he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven will enter

A lot to think about, personally I would love to get a chance to read that letter one day!

