The United Reformed Church (URC) in the UK has voted to allow Gay “Marriage”. Well that’s certainly groundbreaking and to me sort of heartbreaking.

Shall I explain?

OK this is my gut reaction, “wow what would Jesus have thought about this?”.  So my mind goes to the story in Matthew 21 of the temple and the money lenders:

Matthew 21:12 – 13 – Jesus entered the temple courts and drove out all who were buying and selling there. He overturned the tables of the money-changers and the benches of those selling doves. ‘It is written,’ he said to them, ‘“My house will be called a house of prayer,” but you are making it “a den of robbers.”

Now I know that was different, it was about money and people ripping others off but you know it was also about God’s house being used inappropriately “My house will be called a house of prayer”.  So is it that different or can we draw parallels?  I just feel that using God’s house to bless what is a union that goes against biblical teaching is not where we should be going as churches proclaiming God’s love.  We can proclaim God’s love and show God’s love to all, whilst also speaking in truth.  I believe love and truth must go hand in hand and I believe it’s how those of us who struggle with sexuality and faith will eventually see the true face of God.

At this time my heart goes out to those in the URC church who come down on the side of biblical teaching, already we are seeing celebrations and comments that are going to cause divides and hurt.  In this broken world we cannot afford for the church to be at loggerheads with itself, we need to be unified in our love and support for others.

I for one am praying for this church to move forward in unity, to continue to seek God’s wisdom and revelation and that the rifts this has called will be healed quickly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

